Japanese-German Forum

10th Meeting
February 2-4, 2002


German Participants


Dr. Ulrich CARTELLIERI Member of Supervisory Board, Deutsche Bank AG


Prof. Dr. Dr. Ann-Kristin ACHLEITNER Professor, Technical University of Munich
Dr. Dietmar BARTSCH Member of Parliament (PDS)
Dr. Thilo Graf BROCKDORFF Member of the Foundation Council, Japanese-German Center Berlin (JDZB)
Rainer BRÜDERLE Member of Parliament (FDP)
Prof. Dr. Hans Gunter DANIELMEYER Vice President, JDZB
Rolf HEMPELMANN Member of Parliament (SPD)
Gebhard HIELSCHER Journalist; Director Friedrich Ebert Foundation, Tokyo Branch
Prof. Dr. Irmela HIJIYA-KIRSCHNEREIT Director, German Institute for Japanese Studies
Carl Michael ILLIES Executive Vice President and Partner, C. Illies & Co.
Volker KLEIN Secretary General, Japanese-German Center Berlin
Prof. Manfred LAHNSTEIN Chairman, Lahnstein & Partner; Special Representative of the Board, Bertelsmann AG
Dr. Otto Graf LAMBSDORFF Former Federal Minister of Economics
Chairman, Friedrich-Naumann-Foundation
Dr. Manfred OSTEN Secretary General, Alexander von Humboldt-Foundation
Prof. Dr. Rüdiger POHL President, Institute for Economic Research, Halle
Ambassador Henrik SCHMIEGELOW German Ambassador to Japan
Dr. h.c. Lothar SPÄTH Chairman of the Executive Board of Directors, JENOPTIK AG
Amb Dr. Volker STANZEL Director for Asian and Pacific Affairs, Foreign Office

Japanese Participants

[Acting Chairman]

Ryohei MURATA Adviser to the Minister for Foreign Affairs; Former Ambassador to Germany; Special Advisor to The Nippon Foundation


Yumi AKIMOTO Chairman, Mitsubishi Materials Corporation
Hiroaki FUJII President, The Japan Foundation
Shinichi KITAOKA Professor, University of Tokyo
Kenji KOSAKA Member of the House of Representatives (Liberal Democratic Party-LDP); Former Senior Vice Minister of Public Management, Home Affairs, Post and Telecommunications
Toru KUSUKAWA Senior Councilor, Fuji Research Institute Corporation
Issei NOMURA Ambassador to the Federal Republic of Germany
Fukushiro NUKAGA Member of the House of Representatives (LDP); Former Minister of Economic and Fiscal Policy; Former Minister in charge of IT
Jiro SAITO Chairman and Chief Executive, The Tokyo International Financial Futures Exchange
Toshitsugu SAITO Member of the House of Representatives (LDP); Former Director General of Defense Agency
Hatsuhisa TAKASHIMA Director, United Nations Information Center; Former Executive Controller-General, Japan Broadcasting Corporation (NHK)
Akihiko TANAKA Professor, University of Tokyo
Naoki TANAKA President, The 21st Century Public Policy Institute
Shinji TARUTOKO Member of the House of Representatives (Democratic Party of Japan-DPJ)
Osamu WATANABE Special Adviser, Japan Industrial Policy Research Institute
Taizo YAKUSHIJI Professor, Keio University ; Vice President and Executive Research Director, Institute for International Policy Studies (IIPS)
Tadashi YAMAMOTO President, Japan Center for International Exchange