Japanese-German Forum

11th Meeting
March 5-7, 2003


German Participants


Dr. Ulrich CARTELLIERI Member of Supervisory Board, Deutsche Bank AG


Prof. Dr. Dr. Ann-Kristin ACHLEITNER Professor, Technical University of Munich
Dr. Thilo Graf BROCKDORFF Member of the Foundation Council, Japanese-German Center Berlin (JDZB)
Rainer BRÜDERLE Member of Parliament (FDP)
Prof. Dr. Hans Gunter DANIELMEYER Vice President, JDZB
MDg Dr. Christian HAUSWEDELL Director for Asian and Pacific Affairs for the Federal Foreign Office
Gebhard HIELSCHER Journalist; Director Friedrich Ebert Foundation, Tokyo Branch
Prof. Manfred LAHNSTEIN Chairman, Lahnstein & Partner; Special Representative of the Board, Bertelsmann AG
Prof. Dr. Wolf LEPENIES Rector, Wissenschaftskolleg (Institute for Advanced Study) zu Berlin
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Heinz RIESENHUBER Member of Parliament (CDU); Former Federal Minister for Research and Technology
Ambassador Henrik SCHMIEGELOW German Ambassador to Japan
Dr. Theo SOMMER Editor-at-Large, DIE ZEIT
Werner SPINNER Chairman of the Japan-Initiative of the Asia Pacific Committee of German Business; Former Board of Management, Bayer AG
MinDir Dr. Volker STANZEL Director-General for Political Affairs, Federal Foreign Office
Dr. Horst TELTSCHIK Chairman of the BMW Foundation Herbert Quandt
Angelika VIETS Secretary-General, JDZB

[Guest Participants]

MDg Wilfried GRORIG Secretary-General, JDZB
Botschafter a.D. Wilhelm HAAS General Secretary, "Germany in Japan" Year - 2005/2006

Japanese Participants


Yuzaburo MOGI President and CEO, Kikkoman Corporation


Koichiro GENBA Member of the House of Representatives (Democratic Party of Japan-DPJ)
Shinichi KITAOKA Professor, University of Tokyo
Akira KOJIMA Managing Director/Editorial Page Editor, The Nihon Keizai Shimbun
Wataru MORI Japanese Chairman, German Japanese Cooperation Council for High-Tech and Environmental Technology (1994-2002)
Ryohei MURATA Special Advisor to The Nippon Foundation; Former Ambassador to Germany
Jiro SAITO Chairman and Chief Executive, The Tokyo International Financial Futures Exchange
Toshitsugu SAITO Member of the House of Representatives (LDP); Former Director General of Defense Agency
Yushu TAKASHIMA Ambassador to the Federal Republic of Germany
Akihiko TANAKA Professor of International Politics and Director of the Institute of Oriental Culture, University of Tokyo
Hitoshi TANAKA Deputy Minister for Foreign Affairs
Naoki TANAKA President, The 21st Century Public Policy Institute
Michiaki TSURUMI President, Sony Europe GmbH; Group Executive Officer, Sony Corporation
Osamu WATANABE Chairman and CEO, the Japan External Trade Organization (JETRO); former Administrative Vice Minister in Japan's Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry
Tadashi YAMAMOTO President, Japan Center for International Exchange