Japanese-German Forum

15th Meeting
October 12–14, 2006


German Participants


Bernhard SCHEUBLE CEO, Merz GmbH & Co. KGaA


Friederike BOSSE Secretary General, JDZB
Florian COULMAS Director, German Institute for Japanese Studies, Tokyo
Hans-Joachim DAERR Ambassador to Japan
Otto Graf LAMBSDORFF Former Minister of Economics
Hanns MAULL Professor, University of Trier
Andreas MICHAELIS Director for Asian and Pacific Affairs, Foreign Office
Matthias NASS Deputy Editor, DIE ZEIT
Rüdiger POHL Professor, Martin-Luther University Halle-Wittenberg
Heinz RIESENHUBER Member of German Parliament (Bundestag) (CDU); Former Minister for Research and Technology
Günter STOCK President, Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Science
Franz WALDENBERGER Professor, Japan Centre, Ludwig-Maximilian University Munich

Japanese Participants


Yuzaburo MOGI President and CEO, Kikkoman Corporation


Shin'ichi KITAOKA Professor, University of Tokyo; Former Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary, Deputy Permanent Representative of Japan to the United Nations
Kenji KOSAKA Member, House of Representatives (Liberal Democratic Party); Former Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology
Tsutomu OKUBO Member, House of Councillors (Democratic Party of Japan)
Yoshio OKUBO Executive Vice President, The Japan Foundation
Hajime SASAKI Chairman of the Board, NEC Corporation
Toshiyuki TAKANO Ambassador to the Federal Republic of Germany
Hitoshi TANAKA Senior Fellow, Japan Center for International Exchange; Former Deputy Minister for Foreign Affairs
Koji WATANABE Senior Fellow, Japan Center for International Exchange; Former Japanese Ambassador to Russia
Katsuyuki YAKUSHIJI Editor in Chief, Monthly Magazine RONZA
Taizo YAKUSHIJI Member, Council for Science and Technology Policy, Cabinet Office

Guest Speaker

Gert G. WAGNER Head of German Socio-Economic Panel Study (SOEP) and Research Director at German Institute for Economic Research (DIW)